Snapchat Account Deletion: Common Issues and Troubleshooting Tips!

0
458
snapchat delete account

Snapchat is a very popular social media app? More than 493 million people share around 8,800 photos on Snapchat every second. Every day, new filters, games, or features are added to the app to keep people interested and coming back.

But the number of people who don’t like Snapchat has grown quickly in recent years. Concerns have been raised about Snapchat’s privacy policies and the amount of personal information it stores and gathers.

Also, many people say that the app has hurt their mental health, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.

How To Delete Your Snapchat Account

  1. Go to the Snapchat Accounts Portal page from any browser (you can’t delete the account from the Android app).
  2. Enter your username and password.
  3. Select Log in.
  4. Click on Delete My Account.
  5. Enter your username and password once again.
  6. Select Continue, all the way at the bottom.
  7. Done!

delete-snapchat-browser-1-jpg-1365811

Read More: 

How To Delete Your Account On iOS

065mgsift0gropn8svjpqcw-11-v1664919275-1820131

While you can’t delete your Snapchat account using the Android app, iOS users get the ability to do so. Here’s how to do it.

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Tap on your profile icon in the top-left corner.
  3. Hit the gear icon.
  4. Scroll down to Account Actions.
  5. Select Delete Account.
  6. You will be redirected to the Accounts Portal.
  7. Follow the instructions in the previous section to finish the process.

Snapchat will keep all of your information for 30 days in case you decide to come back. If that’s the case, log in again to get your account back up and running. If you don’t use the account in the given time frame, it will be deleted.

Snapchat tells us that it keeps some important information for “legal, security, and business needs.” This could be, for example, information about a purchase.

How To Restore Your Snapchat Account

snapchat-email-recovery-3-9621419

 

  1. Open the Snapchat app and log in using the same credentials before 30 days. Keep in mind you won’t be able to use your email after you delete your account. You’ll need to sign in using your username, instead.
  2. You’ll be asked if you want to reactivate your Snapchat account. Tap Yes.
  3. Give the app some time. Servers will need a few minutes to bring your account back.
  4. Log in. You’re done!

So there you go, guys! Now that you’re done with Snapchat, you can start a new life. Or, you can turn it back on if you start to feel withdrawal symptoms. Don’t forget to follow the Android Authority account if you go back to Snapchat.

What to Do If Snapchat Removes Your Account?

During the first step of the process to delete your Snapchat account, your account will be turned off for 30 days. No one will be able to talk to you or interact with you while your account is disabled.

After that, Snapchat will need up to 30 days to delete all of your information for good and close your account. This means that all of your information will be deleted, including your friends, chats, stories, settings, and location history.

So, if you want to get your account back, you have to contact Snapchat’s support team within this time frame to get the problem fixed quickly. You can’t reactivate an account that has been permanently deleted.

Difference Between a Locked Snapchat Account and a Deleted One

snapchat delete account

Locked or deactivated accounts still have all of your Snapchat data, and the user (if they deleted it themselves) or Snapchat can restore it if they want to. In any case, the process of reactivation usually takes between 12 and 24 hours.

On the other hand, permanently deleted accounts can’t be brought back because the information is gone after 60 days.

Bottom Line

As a general rule, Snapchat only deletes accounts that break their rules or harm the community. Serious crimes include spreading hate and false information, making fake accounts, or using Snapchat in a way that breaks the law.

Your account could also be deleted if you do other things that aren’t as bad. But if you haven’t done anything wrong and still can’t get into your account, you might have been hacked. Most of the time, there is a way to get back into your account.